Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 1 Average
Shipping container house
Alright I need some opinions on this because everyone I talk to is a big hater when it comes to a shipping container house, but I don't think it's a bad idea.

Think about buying a house right, super expensive. A house is gonna be like $150,000-$300,000 depending on where you live, and you don't even have any privacy, you've got the neighbors directly next to you 90% of the time and you don't get a yard unless you get lucky and find a good spot. You can buy a house in rural areas but finding a good house actually for sale in those spots is basically impossible and is going to be super expensive. And even if you get the perfect house, it's gonna be damaged by fire, wind, falling trees, earthquakes, bullets, etc, which is pretty dumb.

So why would I spend a ton of money for that crap when I have a master plan. $30-60k depending on how big you want and the location can get you about 4-12 acre plot of land, if it's pre cleared cool but if it's woodland it's no big deal to have it logged and stumped. $6k for a septic system install, $10k for a water well install, and some electric service put in. So far you've spent less than 100k and already have way more land and privacy than a regular house.